Posted on

Today is my Birthday and I’m Still Wondering!

My SmartPhone and I recharge each night, together in my bedroom. She sits strategically placed on my night table, soothing me to sleep with a few rounds of Words with Friends, or a good book, or even a few Facebook updates. She’s available to wake me on time, inform me on the latest breaking news tragedies, help me know how to dress for the upcoming weather, even take a quick phone call along with what seems like infinite other mission critical functions I can’t handle without her.

This morning she woke me before the alarm, with buzz, buzz-buzz, buzz, buzz, buzz. It must have started around 3 or 4 in the morning, undoubtedly when many of my east coast friends and family were rising and being reminded that it’s my day today via Facebook.

I love being remembered, even if they had to be reminded. I love that they took time to send me good wishes. I’m not quite so good at it myself. Later today I’ll count how many birthday wishes I received and be able to quantitatively measure my friendship worth.

But this blog is about marketing. As I lay in bed this morning, finally realizing what all the buzz was about, I began to wonder where this would lead. I wondered if my favorite products will be buzzing me at any hour of the day or night as the robo-calls do today. Will they send me birthday presents instead of birthday wishes or just their own wishes for me to shop at their store on my special day? Will I feel loved and remembered as I do when my friends check in? I assume I can opt-out of certain communications but will it work as well as the DoNot-Call list?

I love my personal, hand-held, walking, talking, informing, personal assistant. And I am a marketer. Just wondering!

Happy Birthday in advance and belated to all of you whom I’ve missed or will miss in the coming year!

Leave a Reply

